Should you care about the Platypus?

platypus

To answer that question you might want to check out the NHGRI webinar tomorrow: Using Evolution to Decode the Human Genome. The webinar is on comparative genomics:

It almost seems like a genome sequence now exists for nearly every living thing. Whether it’s a fruit fly, hedgehog, or the duck-billed platypus, the genomics research world has produced enormous

amounts of DNA sequence. How do we make sense of all of these data? The key is in comparisons… In this webinar, Eric Green will present an overview of the utility of comparative sequence analyses and show how these comparisons shed light on how genomes work and how these studies are relevant to human health.

It’s tomorrow, March 12, 2009 at 1 p.m. (Eastern US, 10 a.m Pacific, 17:00 GMT).

Oh, and the platypus genome is interesting even in and of itself :D.